Click for Academy of Management home page

Academy of Management

Previous Editorial Team

Stuart Bunderson, Editor 
Sitkin.jpgSim Sitkin is Professor of Management, Director of the Behavioral Science and Policy Center and Faculty Director of the Fuqua/Coach K Center on Leadership and Ethics at Duke University. Previously at Duke, he served as Area Head for the Management and Organizations Department, Faculty Director of Fuqua's Health Sector Management Program, and Staudenmeyer Research Fellow. Sim has also been Academic Director at Duke Corporate Education and on the faculty of University of Texas at Austin and Free University of Amsterdam. He is a Founding Partner of Delta Leadership, Inc. He received a PhD in Organizational Behavior from Stanford University, an EdM in Educational Administration from Harvard University, and a BA in Psychology from Clark University. He was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Management in 2010. Sitkin's research focuses on leadership and control systems and their influence on how organizations and their members become more or less capable of change and innovation. He is widely known for his research on the effect of formal and informal organizational control systems and leadership on risk taking, accountability, trust, learning, M&A processes, and innovation. His research has appeared in such publications as Academy of Management Review, Organization Science, Academy of Management Journal, Administrative Science Quarterly, and Harvard Business Review. His most recent co-edited book is Organizational Control (Cambridge University Press, 2010). His research has been funded by NSF and other government agencies, foundations, and industry. He has twice received the AMR Best Paper Award - in 2007 for "Cognitive underpinnings of institutional persistence and change: A framing perspective" (with E. George, P. Chattopadhyay, & J. Barden) and in 2012 for "The paradox of stretch goals: Pursuit of the seemigly impossible in organizations" (with K. See, C. Miller, M. Lawless & A. Carton), as well as research awards from the Academy of Management, the National Communication Association, Society for Organizational Learning, and the International Network of Trust Research. Sitkin is the Co-Editor Elect of the Academy of Management Annals, Founding Co-Editor of Behavioral Science and Policy, Consulting Editor of Science You Can Use, Advisory Board Member of the Journal of Trust Research, having previously served on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Management, as Senior Editor of Organization Science, and as Associate Editor of the Journal of Organizational Behavior. He has worked as a consultant and executive educator with many large and small corporations, non-profit and government organizations worldwide. His education includes a PhD (organizational behavior. Stanford University), EdM (educational administration, Harvard University), and BA (psychology, Clark University). School Webpage

 Laurie R. Weingart, Editor 
weingart.jpgLaurie R. Weingart is the Carnegie Bosch Professor of Organizational Behavior and Theory and Senior Associate Dean of Education at the Tepper School of Business. She was also the founding President of the Interdisciplinary Network for Group Research. She received a Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University and her BS in Industrial Psychology from the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana. Her research examines negotiation, conflict, and innovation in teams. She is noted for her work on groups, focusing on conflict and emotion in cross-functional teams, social motives and tactical behavior in negotiating groups, and methods for studying dynamic group processes. Weingart's research has been published in top-tier journals in the fields of management, social psychology, and industrial psychology, including Academy of Management Review, Academy of Management Journal, Academy of Management Annals, Journal of Applied Psychology, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, and Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, among others. Her research has been funded by both the NSF and industry grants and has received research paper awards the Academy of Management and the International Association for Conflict Management. In 2009, her paper, Task versus relationship conflict, team performance, and team member satisfaction: A meta-analysis (with C. De Dreu) received the Most Influential Article/Chapter published between 2001-2004 from the Conflict Management Division of the Academy of Management. She has served in leadership positions in the Conflict Management Division of the Academy of Management, the International Association for Conflict Management, and the Interdisciplinary Network for Group Research. She has served on the editorial boards of Academy of Management Review, Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes, and Negotiation and Conflict Management Research, among others. Laurie's email address is School Webpage

Associate Editors

Forrest Briscoe - Pennsylvania State University, USA
Laura B. Cardinal - University of South Carolina, USA
Matthew A. Cronin - George Mason University, USA
David de Cremer - University of Cambridge, UK 
James R. Detert - Cornell University, USA
Elizabeth George - HKUST, Hong Kong

Advisory Board
Stephen R. Barley - University of California Santa Barbara, USA 
Kimberly D. Elsbach - University of California Davis, USA
Miriam Erez - Technion, Israel
Royston Greenwood - University of Alberta, Canada
Henrich Greve - INSEAD, France
Deborah H. Gruenfeld - Stanford University, USA
Ranjay Gulati - Harvard University, USA
Daniel A. Levinthal - University of Pennsylvania, USA
Alan D. Meyer - University of Oregon, USA
Michael W. Morris - Columbia University, USA
Wanda J. Orlikowski - MIT, USA
Hayagreeva Rao - Stanford University, USA
Sara L. Rynes-Weller - Iowa University, USA
Kathleen M. Sutcliffe - Johns Hopkins University, USA
Daan van Knippenberg - Erasmus University, Netherlands
James D. Westphal - University of Michigan, USA

Academy of Management
Member Services
Academy of Management
Online Opportunities
Academy of Management